Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

TNT January 10, 2012

Filed under: exercise,family,healthy living,running,TNT,training,yoga — enjoyingthechaos @ 2:24 pm

So, I did something wild and crazy the other day.

I have been playing around with the idea of joining Leukemia & Lymphoma Socitey team in training.  They are running the IronGirl 1/2 Marathon this Apirl very close to my home.

The fundraising scares me more than running the 13.1 miles.  With a $1500 mimimum commitment, could I really pull this off?  Who knows.

I ran the Maryland 1/2 back in May..and it was a DISASTER.  With limited training ( I sucked at following the training plan), horrible nutrition and SO MANY HILLS…I didn’t do as well as I had hoped when signing up.  Althought I did raise $700 toward the University of Maryland Greenbaum cancer center.

So when I received an email last week informing me that they would waive the $100 registration fee if I signed up by 1/8, I thought, how can I not sign up.  TNT gives you the option to drop out if you feel that you can’t raise the money required or pay the difference.

On Sunday night, I was about to go to sleep, but I picked up my phone and registered.  What do I have to lose, right?

I opted for the flex training.  With mine and PW’s schedules so crazy, I thought it would be best to get in the runs on my own.  I love the idea of having a coach to help me though this training.  Someone to hold me accountable for my runs.  I am very excited to get started!

I started my yoga practice back up..and I couldn’t be happier.  I took a begginer vinyasa class on Saturday..my hamstrings and shoulders feel great/sore (aren’t they the same thing?)  I am headed to a hot vinyasa class this evening at Charm City with Steph…so excited!

I am hoping to use this as a place to track my training and fundraising.  I have started a food journal and i am writing everything that goes in my mouth down :/  I am trying to shed a few lbs for my sister’s wedding in April, or atleast tone up.  Let the chaos begin:)

 

2 Responses to “TNT”

  1. Sue Says:

    I just got home from running the Walt Disney World Half Marathon with TNT. I have absolutely no regrets about signing up and fundraising. It was tough to raise all that money, but it is so worth it. I also did the Nashville Marathon with TNT in April and I have made some really awesome lifelong friends in the process. Post a link in your blog or e-mail it to me and I would love to make a small donation.

  2. Thanks for then encouragement. I am going to need it..lol


Leave a Reply

