Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

and we wait… October 18, 2011

Filed under: family,house,kids — enjoyingthechaos @ 9:50 pm

Yes, we are still waiting….

Our inspection cam back less than perfect..but that is kind of what we expected.  The house was build in the early 1900s, so we knew what was coming…

They found..DUN DUN DUNNNNN….

MOLD…that’s right the big M-O-L-D.

So we added an addendum, asking the sellers to remove the mold in the basement, treat and waterproof, fix some roof leakage and add a temporary handrail.  There are a few other things that are not “perfect” with the house, but I will not be picky…I can fix some broken window in the attic, replace bathroom sink stoppers, and ground some electrical sockets…but I can’t bring my children into a home that has mold in the basement.

They responded today and asked for a 5 day extension…I have no problem giving them that.  I’ll wait…they need some time to get some estimates together…i’ll wait…

The house, to me, is perfect in every other way.  People keep asking me why I want an old house…when I walked into this house the first time..I got an I’m home feeling.  It is a home were children grew up and parents loved them.  It is a home where people gathered around the dinning room table and had dinners and a mother and father sat back and watched a life they created take shape….I love all the little quirky character the house has.  I want to turn this house into a place that people love to be.  I want a big dinner table where every one feels welcome to pull up a chair.  I want a new start for ditty and I and I just feel that this is the place where it will all happen…so I’ll wait…

I have so many ideas and projects in store for this home!  I can’t wait to share it all…but..you’ll have to wait:)

 

One Response to “and we wait…”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Erin – The house sounds great! How exciting to be able to make new memories in your new home.


Leave a Reply

