Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

Reevaluation July 20, 2011

Filed under: exercise,family,healthy living,running,training — enjoyingthechaos @ 10:24 am

I officially started training for the Baltimore Running Festival 1/2 Marathon, on Monday.

Since the last 1/2 the only running I have done was a 5k at the end of June.  Due to not training properly, the 1/2 was hard and I cried from mile 8-13.1 due to the pain in my hip flexors.  When I left the race, the only thing running were my thoughts of, “How is this fun?  Who decides to become a runner at 35 years old?”

Well, I do.  I don’t have to be a fast runner.  I don’t ever plan to place in my age group (not until I am 60 and then I’ll take 3rd;)  I don’t have to have an under 2 hr 1/2 PR.  I don’t ever plan to run a marathon…*well not right now anyway*.

What I do have to do this time is follow a training schedule and fuel my body properly so that I can keep my body healthy.

I would like to lose a few lbs.  I would like to increase my endurance.  I would like to find a way to get in the zone.  I would like to finish the 1/2 in October with a smile on my face..or atleast without painful tears.

So, like I said, training started on Monday.

On Monday, I did some stretching, push ups and sit ups.

On Tuesday, I ran 2 miles on the treadmill.  I was suppose to run 3 but that it wasn’t happening on the dreadmill..UGH!

I have the hardest time running on the treadmill…I watch the numbers, I watch the little arrow going around the “track”, my knees hurt, I focus on my feet, on the person in front of me whose pants are falling down on the elliptical, or the girl who is talking on her cell phone next to me…2miles felt like 22…and I was only on it for 22 min…(told you I was a slow runner).

The plan is to do some cross training today.  Possibly some laps in the pool….I have to see if the weather and the kids cooperate:)

I have decided to follow Hal Higdon’s Novice 1/2 marathon training plan..we’ll see how it goes.

Week
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1

Stretch &
Strengthen

3 m run
2 m run or cross
3 m run +
strength
Rest
30 min
cross
4 m run
2
Stretch &
Strengthen
3 m run
2 m run or cross
3 m run +
strength
Rest
30 min
cross
4 m run
3
Stretch &
Strengthen
3.5 m run
2 m run or cross
3.5 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
5 m run
4
Stretch &
Strengthen
3.5 m run
2 m run or cross
3.5 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
5 m run
5
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
2 m run or cross
4 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
6 m run
6
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
2 m run or cross
4 m run +
strength
Rest or easy run
Rest
5-K Race
7
Stretch &
Strengthen
4.5 m run
3 m run or cross
4.5 m run +
strength
Rest
50 min
cross
7 m run
8
Stretch &
Strengthen
4.5 m run
3 m run or cross
4.5 m run +
strength
Rest
50 min
cross
8 m run
9
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest or easy run
Rest
10-K Race
10
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest
60 min cross
9 m run
11
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest
60 min cross
10 m run
12
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
3 m run or cross
2 m run
Rest
Rest
Half Marathon
 

2 Responses to “Reevaluation”

  1. Heather Says:

    Good luck! Once you get into the training you’ll actually start to ENJOY it!

  2. THanks Heather..that is what I am hoping! Crazy thing is…I calculated wrong and really training starts this upcoming week….I got a jump start..lol


Leave a Reply

