Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

Sole Mate March 24, 2011

Filed under: family,healthy living,running,training — enjoyingthechaos @ 7:35 pm

So, I am currently training for the Maryland Half in May..and my mileage is slowly increasing.  I was able to get out there and run 4 miles last weekend..YAY!!..and I am going for 5 this weekend. 

My very good friend Karen went to Road Runner Sports a few months ago and told me I had to go for the Shoe Dog.  What Shoe Dog does is fetch the best pair of running shoes for you and your running style.

Let me just first say that all of the people who work at RRS are AMAZING.  They really took their time to listen to everything I had to say and make sure I got exactly what my feet, legs, body need in a shoe…

So first, Melissa asked me a few simple questions…Where do I run (outdoor, trail, indoor)?  How many miles a week do I run?  Am I dealing with any injuries at this time?  She plugged this all into the computer and displayed it on a very big screen.

Then Melissa took me over to the balancing board.  I stood there in my bare feet while the board sent important info to the computer.  What it told me was that I have an extremely high arch on my left foot..but my arch on the right foot is so high that I am putting a lot of pressure on my heel.

Now it was time to run on the treadmill at an easy jogging pace.  There is a camera set up to watch the back of my feet.  I set the treadmill at 4.0 and took a nice 20 second jog…What this showed me was that I am a pronator..and it is really bad on my right side.  You should have seen that arch.  She also told me that I should be running in a Stability + shoe..not the Neutral I have been running in for almost a year.

Then they took me over the balance bar and I stepped into these cushy blocks…this is where they take inserts..put them in a little oven thingy and then mold them to my feet.

It was not time to be handed over to Angie..the shoe expert.  I was surprised to find out that they recommend that you go up 1 – 1.5 sizes in your running shoe…giving some room for swelling and movement.  So, even though I was measuring at an 8.5-9..they put me in a 10.  

Where they get you..is that they put the customized inserts into the shoes and have to try them on.  The shoes feel AMAZING..and then they hit you with the price of the insert..YIKES!!  The more I thought about it..it was a small price to pay so that I don’t experience anymore injuries…I am having some Achilles issues right now and was told that it may have to do with the wrong shoe.  

 I walked away purchasing these babies…Brooks Adrenaline GTS 10.

I also picked up one of these.  I have read many recommendations on sports bras for the larger chested women…I am a 38 D..and found many great ones on the Moving Comfort bras.  It has great support and after wearing already for my treadmill run…was so elated that I didn’t have Uniboob…YUCK!!..

RRS has a great VIP program that offers 10% off all merchandise purchased..So, I got all my purchases at a great price and will def go back for more.  I was like a kid in a candy store…I wanted one of everything.

Thank you to RRS..you have just gained a customer for life!!!   And thank you ditty for enduring a day of running stuff!!!

 

4 Responses to “Sole Mate”

  1. Heather Says:

    I hate that you have to go up a size in running shoes – makes me feel like a beast in a size 10!! 🙂

  2. Nicole Says:

    Erin – Glad you got to finally go! I will make it there eventually.

    • It was an awesome place and I can already tell a difference when I am running in the new shoes…plus the motion comfort bra has a great velcro strap if you are going to be nursing..lol..


Leave a Reply

