Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

first race of 2011 March 12, 2011

Filed under: family — enjoyingthechaos @ 10:37 pm

Ok…so this is me in my first ever 5k.  It was last year at the Baltimore Women’s Classic, last June, and I was scared to death.  My time was 37. something minutes.  It was about 10 minutes before that picture was taken that I fell in love with crossing the finish line.  I don’t know how much I am in love with running..but crossing the finish is one of the greatest feelings I have ever experienced. 

I trained using Couch to 5K

, and running did not come easy.  I am not a runner in any way, shape or form..but found that running started to help me with my everyday stresses.  I found that after running, my head was a bit clearer and I was able to go home and deal with the stress of 3 kids, work, school. 

Up until recently, I still couldn’t run a full 5k, but things are changing.

 Tommorrow..I’ll be running the Baltimore St. Patrick’s Day 5k..labeled the best 5k in Baltimore..and states that we will not be disappointed.  This is the first of many races I have planned for 2011 and I am so excited to be running it with all the ladies I ran my first race with.

I have my St. Patty’s day knee highs all ready!!!  Luckily, the race isn’t until 1:15pm tomorrow..so it should be a bit warmer.  A morning race would totally kill me!!  We are supposed to reach a high of 56° mid-day!  Can’t wait to post pics…

Are you running in any St. Patty’s day races? 

 

Leave a Reply

