Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

11 weeks to go February 24, 2011

Filed under: Baltimore,exercise,running,training — enjoyingthechaos @ 8:18 pm

So, I have 11 weeks to be in 1/2 marathon shape…am I crazy???  I think so.

I don’t think that I will be ready to run a 1/2 by mid-May, but I am determined to do my best.

I am a week behind due to the kids being sick and being sick myself at the beginning of the week.

I posted my training program a few day back…and according Mr. Higdon..I should be running 3miles with some strength training today…HAHAHAH…<—that is me truly laughing out loud.  I got in 1.78 miles today..but let me tell you…I ran the whole thing..and that is amazing for me. 

I went and purchased the Nike+iPod the other day to help me log my runs.  I am hoping that this will motivate me to get moving…

I was going to go to the gym today and hop on a treadmill and run until my legs couldn’t carry me any longer.  The other day i did it, but I think because I was getting sick, I only pulled out 1 mile before dropping.  After I dropped lil b off at school I started thinking that it wasn’t really that cold out, and that if Heather and Ali can run in freezing cold weather, I can’t complain about 48°.   So, I threw on my headband and my gloves and hit the pavement.  It felt amazing!!  With the cold yucky weather we have been having, I have been hiding in the gym..and I forgot how much I love running outside.

I think what got me out there today was starting to read this, Run Like A Mother – How to get Moving and Not Lose Your Family, Job, or Sanity, by Dimity McDowell and Sarah Bowen Shea.  I am only on the Chapter 3 and have laughed out loud over a dozen time. 

Being a mom of two little ones and one big one, I find it difficult to find the time to run.  Mornings are for fighting over what to wear to school, even though KP wears a uniform.  It’s about spilled milk, lunch box filling, book bag grabbing running to the bus stop before the bus leaves at 7:30am when he is supposed to stay there until 7:40am.  After dropping KP off..it onto dropping lil b off at daycare and getting myself to work in time so I can get in at least 36 out of the 40 hours I am supposed to work.  I sit at my desk, surrounded by co-workers that believe that wings, pizza and subs have their own space on the food pyramid and try to get at least 4-5 servings at one sitting, for 10 hours 4 days a week.  It usually feels like my days never end…some days I am lucky enough to be able to head home to say goodbye to ditty as he leaves for work, make dinner, spend some quality time with the little ones, baths, bed, homework….ok, so..there is no energy left after that.  Other days, I have to leave work and head to school to sit in class until 10pm. 

When I started running it was a lot easier.  I wasn’t working full-time and I didn’t take it to seriously.  It was April of last year and after seeing that a few friends ran their first 5k, my interest was piqued.  I signed up for my first 5k in June.  Since then I have run 6 5ks and have loved most everyone.  I never did it for time and I never tried to PR in any of them, but this year I am hoping to step up my game.  I plan to put a lot of effort into my training and my 5k time has gone to imporve…but if not…I’ll be okay with that.

I love this book became so far..they know where I am coming from.  Although both authors started running before the age of 34, unlike me..lol, they just understand that sometime you would rather run then put the folded laundry away tonight…or that sometime..if the living room is messy..the world will not come to an end.  If you are a mom..and you love to run..it is a total must read.

I have to thank my friend Karen for giving it to me…alone with a pair of AWESOME socks and an extra tech t she had….I love that I have finally surrounded myself with strong like-minded women!!!  Thanks Kar!!!

 

One Response to “11 weeks to go”

  1. Heather Says:

    Yay for running outside!! The hardest part is getting out the door. 🙂


Leave a Reply

