Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

TRAINING… February 16, 2011

Filed under: exercise,family,running,training — enjoyingthechaos @ 10:30 pm

So, as I was taking a look at my calandar..I realized holy guacamole…i start 1/2 marathon training…next week.  This is not the best of news for me as I have been suffering with some hip issues and haven’t made it to the gym due to that and the two snotty nosed sicklings that reside in my home.

After Disney on Ice this Sunday, lil b started to run a fever…a nap was totally what she needed.  When we woke up the fever was a blazzin…so we took a trip to Patient First…lil b had the flu.  We are now on Wednesday…she is feeling better…and I am happy to say that none of us have any signs of it!! YAY!!

She is feeling much better today…so I knew I had to get to the gym.  I was so worried about my hip…i can’t describe the feeling…it feels like a sore muscle inside my hip socket.  So, I have been resting it…a lot…and eating lots of ice cream…to help the hop feel better 😉

I started in the cardio cinema on the elliptical for about 10 minutes and i was feeling good.  I decided I would head out to the treadmill to try to get in at least a mile…and that is what I did.  I know this sounds lame, weak, beginner stuff…but this is a big deal to me because of these hip issues.  I finished the mile strong and could have kept running..but I didn’t want to push it..I was feeling good.  I ran upstairs to do some ab work and then back to the CC to finished with another 10 min on the elliptical…and finished with some stretching.  I still am loving the ballet bar at the gym…i want one for the basement. 

Depending on how I feel tomorrow…I may try to up it to 1.5 and see how I do…

I was signed up for the St Patrick’s Day 5k in a few weeks..but with the hip pain…I sold my registration to a girl at work.  She is going to run her first 5k and by the time she went to sign up the registration was closed.  Had I not sold it..I may have tried to run it…oh well.

I have a few races planned for the next few months and I am so excited to get back to running.  I may never win an age range…or run a marathon..but I love crossing the finish line.  It is an amazing rush and a total feeling of accomplishment that I don’t get anywhere else.  It is the one thing that I do for me!!

I have decided to train using Hal Higdon‘s 1/2 marathon training plan.  It seem pretty easy to follow for my first half…

 
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
Stretch &
Strengthen
3 m run
2 m run or cross
3 m run +
strength
Rest
30 min
cross
4 m run
2
Stretch &
Strengthen
3 m run
2 m run or cross
3 m run +
strength
Rest
30 min
cross
4 m run
3
Stretch &
Strengthen
3.5 m run
2 m run or cross
3.5 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
5 m run
4
Stretch &
Strengthen
3.5 m run
2 m run or cross
3.5 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
5 m run
5
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
2 m run or cross
4 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
6 m run
6
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
2 m run or cross
4 m run +
strength
Rest or easy run
Rest
5-K Race
7
Stretch &
Strengthen
4.5 m run
3 m run or cross
4.5 m run +
strength
Rest
50 min
cross
7 m run
8
Stretch &
Strengthen
4.5 m run
3 m run or cross
4.5 m run +
strength
Rest
50 min
cross
8 m run
9
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest or easy run
Rest
10-K Race
10
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest
60 min cross
9 m run
11
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest
60 min cross
10 m run
12
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
3 m run or cross
2 m run
Rest
Rest
Half Marathon

 

Being new to this 1/2 marathon stuff…if you have any suggestions to help me out..I would greatly appreciate them.

Did I mention i am blogging from the bath tub..lol..I am..I hope I don’t lose my laptop in here..lol

 

2 Responses to “TRAINING…”

  1. We’re in the half marathon training club together, my friend. I am in the throes of it right now and it’s tough but I KNOW it will be worth it.

    I hope your hip continues to get better and your kids, too!


Leave a Reply

