Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

ewwww…. January 13, 2011

Filed under: family — enjoyingthechaos @ 10:46 pm

Tonight I was just not feeling the gym.  It is cold outside…28° to be exact..so the thought of coming home from work, bundling the kids up and going to the gym was the last thing I wanted to do….but I did it anyway.  I am determined to run my next 5k with NO WALKING at all…so I need to be there. 

When i got home I ran upstairs to change my clothes only to remember that all of my workout clothes are in the basement hanging on the lines…I did not feel like going down there to get them.  Instead, I pulled a t-shirt from the Race for the cure that I did back in october.

WHAT WAS I THINKING????  I will never again wear a cotton shirt while running on the treadmill.  I felt so gross about 5 min into my run and then stayed wet until i got home and changed….did I mention that it wa 28° outside.  I shudder just thinking about the feeling…next time…I’ll take that trip down 2 flights of stairs.

Body for Life check::  I feel that I am doing okay.  This first week was a bit of a learning experience.  I think that when you change our way of eating/exercising there has to be some room for improvement/mistakes..right. 

What have I learned??  Glad you asked…

1.  The most important part of this whole life change is to plan out my meals.  I didn’t take the time to plan things out exactly right and ran out of food quick. 

2.  Take workout clothes to work.  If I do this I can have ditty meet me at the gym and bring the kids..that way I can get my workout done qicker and get home faster.

3.  Make sure ditty feeds the kids before he leaves for work.  Even if I have to come home and get the kid after work..if they are fed then I am not rushing to get home at 7:30 to feed them and get them to bed…when we get home we can start bedtime routine.

4.  Be flexible.  If I don’t follow BFL exactly I will not die.  It may take me longer to see the reults I want but it will not kill me.

I spend a big portion of my day planning out my meal for this upcoming week. 

Tonight I did another 1.5 mile on the treadmill.  I think my ankle is bothering me but I can’t tell quite yet.  The other day in yoga class I felt a weird zizzy feeling in my ankle…and then my toes went numb but only for a second.  It felt a little funny on the treadmill tonight…I need to keep an eye on it.

Other then that..I feel great.  I know that it sound crazy but I feel stronger.  If I feel that way now..it only has got to get better.  I did make the mistake of weighing myself tonight at the gym….i will not do that again for another 2 week.  That is the plan for me…everything three weeks I will look at my progress.  I have lower body and abs scheduled for tomorrow. 

Nighty night!!!

 

2 Responses to “ewwww….”

  1. janetha Says:

    I loved reading your reflections! It sounds like you are in a good spot and figuring it all out. I definitely agree on the planning thing. I always remind myself “if you fail to plan, you plan to fail”.

    Good job on BFL!

  2. Heather Says:

    OMG, I’m exactly the same way! I won’t go down to the basement for my workout clothes! I think it’s so funny that I’m too lazy to do that when I’m on my way to the GYM. Lol.
    Keep an eye on that ankle and great job on BFL!


Leave a Reply

