Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

What Cancer Cannot Do… December 7, 2010

Filed under: family — enjoyingthechaos @ 8:37 pm

A few years ago my mother got all of us an amazing Christmas gift that could be enjoyed for many years to come…

It’s an advent calendar.  Everyday the kids come downstairs to find a little gift..left by Santa’s elves…hair bows, chocolate Santas, travel games, silly bands, ornaments..you name it the possibilities are endless.

When I got to my parents house…I noticed that the nutcracker with a 6 on his hat was open a bit…I took a peek and found a gift from the elves for ME!!

It is a wonderful bracelet that say: What Cancer Cannot Do…

It can not cripple love.  It can not shatter hope. 

It can not corrode faith.  It can not eat away peace.

It can not destroy confidence.

It can not kill friendship.  It can not shut our memories.

It can not silence courage.  It can not reduce eternal life.

It can not quench the spirit.

My father has just finished his treatment for base of the tongue cancer!!  This illness has brought our family together in a great way.  My parents have realized that they can count on my sister and I when they need us most.  My sister and I have stepped in as caretakers when my mother was fighting a stomach bug.  This is the first time our lives have come full circle and it became our turn to take care of our parents.  In the last 2 months I have been scared, sad, anxious, angry, happy, and experienced a million different emotions.  Luckily, it is all behind us and we are waiting for the day where my father is free of all the pain meds and is eating without his feeding tube.  I love my family…we are pretty awesome!!!

 

2 Responses to “What Cancer Cannot Do…”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Erin – Love the bracelet! So happy your dad is finished his treatments and hope you and your family will have a wonderful Christmas!!

  2. Thanks Nicole! I hope you, Bunky and the kids have a wonderful holiday as well! Let’s have a MILF get together after the holidays!!


Leave a Reply

