Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

happy day December 4, 2010

Filed under: family — enjoyingthechaos @ 10:41 am

Why am I so happy today you ask???

– I am happy that I took my lunch to work all week

*yes my lunch bag is an American Eagle bag…i love to recycle:)*

 

– I am happy that I saved so much money this week bringing those lunches

– I am happy that I managed to get in 7 servings of fruits and veggies this week

 

  

– I am happy that I have discovered the yummy goodness of Fiber Plus Bars

  

– I am happy that last night my Power Point presentation was submitted for my Social Work Technology class

– I am happy that I only have one more paper to write for the semester

– I am happy that my Social Policy final is a take home

 

– I am happy that my little munchins let me sleep until 8am this morning  *this is  what I call sleepin in*

 

– I am happy that my mother-in-law is coming into town today for the night *I’ll explain later*

– I am happy that my kiddos are downstairs cleaning up the play room

– Most of all…I am happy that today P ditty will celebrate one year of sobriety….I have mentioned that we separated over 3 years ago and it was due to an addiction to pain medication.  We went from an amazing relationship to pure hell.  You name it…it happened.  After I left with the kids, we lost the cars, the house, and every other possession that you could imagine.  There were many moments when I thought that I would never make it through the day.  I was living with my parents and my three children.  My youngest was 5 months old…I didn’t have a job (at that time I was a stay-at-home-mom), I didn’t have any money, I didn’t have a car.  I have the most amazing family and everyone gathered around me and showered me with love and support.  My father gave me an old car that he was about to sell, I went back to school, I had to go to social services and apply for anything i could…*this was the most humiliating day of my life and I spent the whole day in tears*.  The day I walked out of that office, with one child in a sling and the other on my hip..I vowed that I would fight everyday to get back everything that I had lost.  Luckily, I had a good number of college credits under my belt and I registered for school that same day.  I graduated with a degree in Addictions Counseling 1 1/2 years later and went back to work full-time.  During this time, P ditty struggled everyday with his addiction.  I refused to enable him…*thanks to my schooling I knew how to deal with an addict*…I refused to give him money, shelter, clothing…when he was clean (which was occasionally) I let him spend time with the kids, have dinner with us, attend events with the children.  At one point he went to rehab and got himself clean.  He moved into a halfway house, got a job, started doing very well…but relapsed.  On November 30th of 2009, he made a decision that he wanted his life back.  It is a day-to-day process but everyday he fought the demons..attended meetings, he formed a network, he got a great job, a car, and a year later…he is clean.  He is a HUGE part of our lives today.  He works nights and I work days…so he is with the kids all day and then we switch.  I love having my best friend back, I love having the man I chose to be my children’s father back, and I am so happy that my son has this amazing man to look up to.

Be happy today….everywhere miracles are occurring!!

 

Leave a Reply

