Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

Pre-Post Thanksgiving November 27, 2010

Filed under: family,girls,kids,running — enjoyingthechaos @ 11:37 pm

So, where to start…oh right…

Thanksgiving morning

I was so excited to run the YMCA’s Turkey Trot 5k with these ladies.  They are two of my dearest friends from high school.  Karen(the one in the pink) and I have been friends since we were 5 years old..and Denise and I met entering 10th grade.  This is her first race after having her daughter 8 months ago…reconnecting with them has been so much fun!!

The course was harder than I expected..with lack of training and rainy weather I knew I was in for it…but when I saw all the hill that were covered with wet leaves…it turned out ugly…I feel a few times…but I lived to tell about it:)

After Kar dropped me off…I made breakfast

eggs with spinach and cheddar cheese and an english muffin on the side..

I had to fuel up to get me and the fam ready for Thanksgiving at my parent house…

I was making Brussel Sprouts with Pancetta and Onions that I got from a recipe in Women’s Day magazine.

I didn’t take a picture because it didn’t turn out pretty…it tasted okay…but I think I may have some something wrong.  You are supposed to saute the onion in the pancetta drippings…but there were none…I had to add a little something to the pan…I should have used EVOO but instead I grabbed the smart balance…bad choice…and I didn’t make the pancetta crispy enough…:(  but everyone at mom’s loved it!

This Thanksgiving…

…I am thankful for adorable little girls that I can enjoy and give back…

…the adorable little girl that I get to keep…

…the most amazing family a girl can have…(sorry no family pics..they are all camera-shy)

…little boys being gentlemen…

..and that now..I can start preparing for Christmas…yes, the lists are on the fridge.

The day after Thanksgiving…were not so giving…

I was super sick all day with a nasty bug.  Unfortunately, I had to sit at work for 10 hours and suffer through increasing chills and aches.  I couldn’t tell what aches were from the 5k and what were from being sick…but either way…they hurt!  I came home and crashed…of couse P ditty had to work…but the kids were angels 😉

Today…was a much-needed lazy day.  I am feeling much better..no aches, no pains, no vomiting…well, from me anyway.  Lil b has it now…

and yes, she still has on the Christmas pjs…she thinks she needs to wear them until Christmas…I’ll peel them off of her at some point tomorrow…lol

I made stuffed peppers for dinner tonight…I can’t wait to share tomorrow…gnight all!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

