Enjoying The Chaos

of life…with kids, school, and work

Chilly day for a 5k November 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — enjoyingthechaos @ 11:18 pm

So, this morning my oldest friend, Karen and I did a 5k to support The Tuerk House here in Baltimore City.  It is a substance abuse treatment center along with transitional housing program for those graduating from the program.  This is a very near and dear to my heart.  Anyway, it was a very cold morning but I have to say one of the most beautiful runs I have had. 

Many people don’t love the city.  I, however, LOVE the city.  If I didn’t have children or could afford to send my kid to some posh private school, I would live in the city…it a heartbeat.  I love the idea of owning a bike and riding it to work..walking everywhere…and love all the hustle and bustle of city life.  I always dream that after my children are in college, I’ll sell my home and move into a beautiful old townhouse in Baltimore City..with fireplaces and original mouldings…lol

So, it was freezing today.  Luckily last night I purchased a nice warm head band and gloves.  We usually run with a bunch of other girls and have our families cheering us on at the start and the finish..but this morning it was justs Karen and I.  She is much further along in her training than I am.  At the Baltimore Running Festival she ran the 1/2 marathon..with great time for her first.  Today, she stuck by my side.  When I had to stop, she stopped.  We crossed the finish line together..well, she let me go in front of her…and I don’t ever think she will know how wonderful a gift she gave me today.  Thanks Kar…We have known one another since we were 5 years old…it was just a great feeling.

Tonight I am spending time getting ready for B’s birthday party tomorrow.  Fancy Nancy…but there is no fancy nancy stuff.  We have lots of pink and purple…we have lots of tiaras and girly stuff…but not much Fancy Nancy…oh well..maybe a group of 4 year olds won’t notice..lol..

I am beat! 

Do you have a friend who you have known since you were a child?

 

Leave a Reply

